What have I been up to?

Quite a lot.

Though one would not know it by the state of my humble little blog. And so, dear reader, I will update you today, allowing you into the inner circle that is the three ring circus of my life.

Some time ago, over a year, I can’t recall the actual date, I said to my husband, “I want to make a living as a writer. I’m not talking about J.K. Rowling status, just putting words in a row and people giving me money for it. That’s how I want to make an income.”

And so it has come to pass. To make a little bit of extra cheese, I had already picked up a few gigs on elance.com. This site has since been bought out by Odesk and is experiencing some growing pains in the process. Before the switch, I played the numbers game and lined up the gigs I needed to make some decent pocket change, enough so that I could finally quit my day job.

I have read a thousand articles on how to “make a living as a writer”, and I’m starting to get the impression that many writers just use their time to write books on how to become a writer. I considered this. Really, I did. In all honesty, I felt as if it were cheating the system. “Ask me how to make money!!” Okay, how do I make money? “Buy this kit to find out!” *Buys kit* “Sell this kit to people to make money!!” That kind of thing. Cheating. I wanted to compose stories. So I became a ghostwriter.

This topic alone could comprise of many blog posts on its own. But truth be told, the very nature of ghostwriting includes not being able to talk about it. Not even a little bit. I’ve probably already said too much.

In other news, I completed the first draft of my current work-in-progress. To much joy and adulation, this is something I CAN talk about. I don’t want to give away too much plot of course, but it involves a teenage girl trying to survive in the zombie apocalypse. Here is a character teaser I created for it. promo poster

Pretty cool, huh?

In other news, I have created an official Facebook author’s page which can be seen here.

I built it for two reasons. One, it makes a huge difference to see one’s smiling face with the word “author” next to it inasmuch as having something to get one’s butt in gear. Knowing that the entire world wide web has access to it is a great motivator. Let me tell ya! Two, I plan on finishing this thing and I need an author’s page.

It did not make sense to me, but everything I have read says to build up your online presence BEFORE publishing. My initial thoughts were, how on earth can one create an author presence if one has not yet been published? But doing things “my way” has worked out so well, I decided to go ahead and take the plunge, following the advice of the many articles pointing me down the path to imminent success. (tic)

There is an old saying, “When the student is ready, the teacher will appear.” This has turned out to be true on so many levels. Another resource I stumbled across in my effort to learn everything is the “Fiction Writing” group on Facebook. It is said that in order to succeed one must have a mentor. This group has become that for me in many ways. Everyone is very nearly as goofy as I am and the wealth of knowledge amassed there is invaluable. I can honestly say, I would not be anywhere close to where I am now if not for this group.

And yet, another opportunity arises as well. In addition to all of the above, an old friend of mine is part of the team beginning and independent publishing platform called Eurus. It does not have an online presence as of yet, but I am sensing great and promising things from this group of people.

So much for “just a quick blurb on my blog”. At least, this can be my little corner of the internet where I can rant about life, the universe, and everything as I see fit. Feel free to follow my author site on Facebook. Stay tuned for more to come.

Happy writing, everyone!

Leave a Reply

