Top Five Writer Things

I’ve decided to try more blogging. I enjoy it. It’s good practice. Plus it gives me a place to make a list of my current projects. This is just a status of what I’m currently working on and possibly what goals I have for each project. To start with there is…

1. The Novel: I finished this gem during NANOWRIMO if 2012, with the lofty goal of having it edited and ready to market in time to write the sequel during NANOWRIMO of 2013. Ha! Little did I know that editing a book is akin to staring into the deepest darkest pit of ones soul, reaching in and ripping out the bits that don’t seem to make sense. It’s like untangling spaghetti. But the good news is I’m about halfway through the editing process with a clear view of where to go with it. That brings us to….

2. The Novella: This one is a bit of a pulp piece. Though originally it was inspired by the events of a dream that I had, it has spiraled into something more like a quick story to get out on the market. This is the one I will probably pitch on Amazon, and maybe under a pseudonym… But in order to keep my story muscles working, I’ve also been writing…

3. The Short Stories: I’m compiling these and trying to get them organized for the purpose of shopping around to various publishers that are taking submissions for anthologies. Getting my name out, that sort of thing. Problem here is that the older stories from a long time ago seem to have been written by someone else… Someone with a marginal bit of talent that has not been honed quite as well as I would like. Hm. One of these stories is especially obvious in this respect, in that there is a chunk in the middle that I had added later. So the story is terrible, then becomes awesome, then returns to terrible. I need to go and rewrite some of it. But once they are all ready, then I will be attempting to submit them as I can, which brings me to…. 

4. The Spreadsheet: Have I mentioned that I like to build spreadsheets? They are like little organized magic charts. I love them SO MUCH!!! So I have built one in which I can keep track of various publishers, what their requirements are, and what the due dates are. Also, because of the magical nature of the spreadsheet, I can also make a column for what action I have take and whether or not I have heard back from that publisher. And so on. For the sake of having five things on this list, the next thing that deserves mentioning is…

5. The Blog: Hey, that’s this! What you are reading right now! How ’bout that. I recently read a great blog post about finishing things that made me continue to think on things as I have been in a certain direction. I have always approached the blog with a healthy amount of trepidation. That is I see so many other blogs that are so well written I find it a bit intimidating that my blog should be just regular stuff about my thoughts and ideas. Who wants to hear that stuff? Thing is, it doesn’t matter. What does matter is that I take the time and exercise the self discipline to utilize the BICHOK technique for the purpose of training myself to become a better writer. 

So that is what I shall do. I hope you enjoyed reading my top five writer things. Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

